ukVac.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical > Tech, Maintenance & Repairs
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - arcade rocker switch
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Skin:


arcade rocker switch

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
Beastman View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 14 Apr 2019
Location: Bs273pg
Status: Offline
Points: 48

Feedback: 0
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Beastman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: arcade rocker switch
    Posted: 30 Jun 2020 at 11:00am
hey guys, ive wired up my arcade switch to turn cab on off but cant turn off its live both ways any help would b great many thanx.
Back to Top
Beastman View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 14 Apr 2019
Location: Bs273pg
Status: Offline
Points: 48

Feedback: 0
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Beastman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Jun 2020 at 11:10am
Back to Top
Fantazia2 View Drop Down
User
User
Avatar

Joined: 13 Aug 2015
Location: Darlington
Status: Offline
Points: 2457

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Fantazia2 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Jun 2020 at 11:11am
You might need to upload a larger picture than that, pretty much impossible to see what youve got there.

Also a better angle so we can see where the wires are going to.


Edited by Fantazia2 - 30 Jun 2020 at 11:13am
Back to Top
big10p View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 04 Jul 2014
Location: Somerset
Status: Offline
Points: 9491

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote big10p Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Jun 2020 at 11:20am
Yeah, it's impossible to see what's going on there.
Back to Top
Beastman View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 14 Apr 2019
Location: Bs273pg
Status: Offline
Points: 48

Feedback: 0
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Beastman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Jun 2020 at 11:26am
Back to Top
Beastman View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 14 Apr 2019
Location: Bs273pg
Status: Offline
Points: 48

Feedback: 0
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Beastman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Jun 2020 at 11:27am
Back to Top
Fantazia2 View Drop Down
User
User
Avatar

Joined: 13 Aug 2015
Location: Darlington
Status: Offline
Points: 2457

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Fantazia2 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Jun 2020 at 11:28am
Still need a better angle, all I can see on there is 2 power leads that are joined together in the chocolate blocks on the left hand side of the pic going to what I assume is the switch on the right hand side.

 Is there another cable for power in?


Edited by Fantazia2 - 30 Jun 2020 at 11:29am
Back to Top
Beastman View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 14 Apr 2019
Location: Bs273pg
Status: Offline
Points: 48

Feedback: 0
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Beastman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Jun 2020 at 11:48am
hey guys thanx for looking ive tried to get better pics but no joy, all it is a kettle lead coming inn then earth live neutral, then their piggybacked to switch, then earth live neutral to power supply. sorry but just not very clear on explaining.
Back to Top
Fantazia2 View Drop Down
User
User
Avatar

Joined: 13 Aug 2015
Location: Darlington
Status: Offline
Points: 2457

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Fantazia2 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Jun 2020 at 11:58am
We need a picture straight on like in your first post, but a bigger size so we can actually see how its wired.
Back to Top
Beastman View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 14 Apr 2019
Location: Bs273pg
Status: Offline
Points: 48

Feedback: 0
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Beastman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Jun 2020 at 11:59am
okay il try sort picture
Back to Top
big10p View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 04 Jul 2014
Location: Somerset
Status: Offline
Points: 9491

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote big10p Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Jun 2020 at 12:01pm
Just try and get a pic of the switch connections. One of the black cables coming from it looks completely pointless.
Back to Top
Beastman View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 14 Apr 2019
Location: Bs273pg
Status: Offline
Points: 48

Feedback: 0
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Beastman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Jun 2020 at 12:10pm
Back to Top
Beastman View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 14 Apr 2019
Location: Bs273pg
Status: Offline
Points: 48

Feedback: 0
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Beastman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Jun 2020 at 12:18pm
hope this is clearer.
Back to Top
Fantazia2 View Drop Down
User
User
Avatar

Joined: 13 Aug 2015
Location: Darlington
Status: Offline
Points: 2457

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Fantazia2 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Jun 2020 at 12:24pm
That looks like a complete mess.

If the switch part is at the top and the kettle lead connection is at the bottom, it looks like you have a loop of cable going to both sides of the switch for both neutral and live.

That needs pulling out and redoing for the wiring as its all joined together at several points so the switch will never work.
Back to Top
Beastman View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 14 Apr 2019
Location: Bs273pg
Status: Offline
Points: 48

Feedback: 0
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Beastman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Jun 2020 at 12:39pm
do u mean I need to disconnect the jumper live and neutral from middle of switch?
Back to Top
Fantazia2 View Drop Down
User
User
Avatar

Joined: 13 Aug 2015
Location: Darlington
Status: Offline
Points: 2457

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Fantazia2 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Jun 2020 at 1:14pm
Basically you want it like this.

If the bottom connectors are from the kettle lead and the top 2 sets of connectors are the switch then, 

You want jumper wires from the lower terminals to the bottom of the terminals on the switch.

You then want to get rid of one of the black wires as it is redundant.

Then wire the remaining black wire to the top set of terminals on the switch and the ground wire to the ground post on the lower kettle lead connection.

That should then give you a working power switch.


Presently you appear to have the lower terminals connected to one of the black leads which is giving you a permanent live into the cab, then from the chocolate blocks that the lower black cable goes to the other black cable is also connected to so the live power goes to the top terminals on the switch and then you have jumper wires going from one side of the switch to the other, so no matter what the switch is set to you will always have a live connection on all 3 sets of terminals.

At least thats what I can see from the photos anyway.


Edited by Fantazia2 - 30 Jun 2020 at 1:15pm
Back to Top
TheDaddy View Drop Down
User
User
Avatar

Joined: 25 Aug 2018
Location: uk
Status: Online
Points: 2541

Feedback: 4.75
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote TheDaddy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Jun 2020 at 1:22pm
Cant tell what sort of switch it is - the live is basically just looped through. I would start again. What is the front view of the switch ??. This is how (Most) work (Basic but good indication) :-




More than 1 type of switch though.

Dave.

EDIT :- so basically looking at your other pic the switch is doing nothing as L/N/E come straight out of the rocker IEC input and go straight to the Block connector that supplies the 2 Outputs (I assume 1 screen and 1 PSU) The should only be 1 black wire from the switch - you have 2 ( As far as I can make out)





Edited by TheDaddy - 30 Jun 2020 at 1:31pm
AKA Wonderboy. If there is such a thing as reincarnation , knowing my luck , I will come back as me !!
Back to Top
Fantazia2 View Drop Down
User
User
Avatar

Joined: 13 Aug 2015
Location: Darlington
Status: Offline
Points: 2457

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Fantazia2 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Jun 2020 at 1:56pm
You probably want to remove all the wires from the input and test what is what on the switch using a multimeter in continuity mode and throwing the switch back and forth so you can work out which terminals are switched to which other terminals.

Going by TheDaddys picture it looks like a similar unit but upside down, and the switch is wired 90 degress.

I dont think yours is wired that way as if it was and you flipped the switch you would essentially be joining the live and neutral wires together when on causing a massive short with how it is currently wired.
Back to Top
69er View Drop Down
User
User
Avatar

Joined: 25 Sep 2011
Location: CHESHIRE
Status: Offline
Points: 624

Feedback: 0
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 69er Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Jun 2020 at 3:50pm
Originally posted by Fantazia2 Fantazia2 wrote:

You probably want to remove all the wires from the input and test what is what on the switch using a multimeter in continuity mode and throwing the switch back and forth so you can work out which terminals are switched to which other terminals.

.

THIS    always have a multimeter to hand ... electric is invisible and harmful 

pull the plug  ....... and check out the switch is working ok and which terminals open when its off and close when its on 

 while its not wired to the switch  make sure the wires are not touching each other or anything else and then plug in .... if the machine is 'on' when plugged in while the switch is completely disconnected then its a wiring short issue and the switch is just not effective... BUT GET THAT METER 
undefeated arcade junk hoarder champion since 1977

IF YOU CHUCK IT AWAY YOU NEED IT THE NEXT DAY!!
Back to Top
Fantazia2 View Drop Down
User
User
Avatar

Joined: 13 Aug 2015
Location: Darlington
Status: Offline
Points: 2457

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Fantazia2 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Jun 2020 at 3:52pm
Originally posted by 69er 69er wrote:

Originally posted by Fantazia2 Fantazia2 wrote:

You probably want to remove all the wires from the input and test what is what on the switch using a multimeter in continuity mode and throwing the switch back and forth so you can work out which terminals are switched to which other terminals.

.

THIS    always have a multimeter to hand ... electric is invisible and harmful 

pull the plug  ....... and check out the switch is working ok and which terminals open when its off and close when its on 

 while its not wired to the switch  make sure the wires are not touching each other or anything else and then plug in .... if the machine is 'on' when plugged in while the switch is completely disconnected then its a wiring short issue and the switch is just not effective... BUT GET THAT METER 

From the pictures it looks like both sides of the switch are jumpered together so it will never work.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.328 seconds.