ukVac.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Pinball > General Pinball Discussion
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Skin:

First pin

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Shinydaz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: First pin
    Posted: 14 Jul 2018 at 2:54am
I'm treading the water and looking into buying my first pinball but must be a restoration project. Any noob advice would be greatly appreciated.

Daz
Hunting for a pole position !!
robotech View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote robotech Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jul 2018 at 4:04am
I'm no expert but will try and give some advice as I have just bought my first pin

go and play as many pinball machines as you can so you can work out which games you like everyone's taste is different

eg I don't like Adams family ,or attack from mars but everyone else seems to love them
I like data east hook but no one else dose

electric circus or tilt in Birmingham are good and have a mixture of all tables from different manufacturers and years
pinfest is soon also

I was warned not to buy gottlieb machines as they are harder to fix and parts are expensive or hard to find

I was also warned away from electro mechanical machines because they are hard to repair I don't like how slow they play anyway

For a first pin
I would go for something solid state from bally or Williams as most of the fixes for stuff are well documented
you need to be fairly handy with a soldering iorn but no different to repairing arcade boards / monitors really
Recapping ect

any pins you are looking at check playfield wear and broken ramps and plastics as some are not reproduced and are unobtainable unless some one breaks a pin for spares

Playfields that are worn out down to the wòod or have planking unless really cheap arnt worth bothering with home