ukVac.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical > Tech, Maintenance & Repairs
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Golden Axe no attract sound
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Skin:


Golden Axe no attract sound

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
channel27 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 30 Jul 2015
Location: Iwade, Kent
Status: Offline
Points: 379

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote channel27 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Golden Axe no attract sound
    Posted: 14 Nov 2017 at 8:42pm
Hi all,

I picked up a System 16 Golden Axe from an op a couple of weeks ago.
It plays fine with in-game sound (music and sfx) but there’s no attract sound.
At first I thought it was switched off at the dip switch, but there’s no sound no matter what the switch is set to.

Am I right in thinking that a suicided board has no sound at all?

From what I can tell, the battery has never been changed as the chip cover looked like it had never been off until I removed it. Also, the “booby trap metal prong” from the battery to the chip cover was still firmly taped in place.

I also carefully measured the battery voltage and it’s around 2.9v

The stickers on the chips aren’t original so maybe this board is a conversion?
I’ll get a pic up soon.

Any insight as to where my attraction sound has gone will be great fully received, thanks :)

Cheers,
Rob
Wanted
New Net City
Tekken: 3, 5DR, 5.1, 6, 6BR, TTT2
Virtua Fighter: 1, 2.1, 3TB, 4, 5
Any working / faulty Sega Model 1/2/3 boards
Back to Top
dj_yt View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 06 Sep 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Points: 1500

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote dj_yt Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Nov 2017 at 8:50pm
I would expect a suicided board to be completely dead. If the battery has gone, the core program code can't be decrypted and executed.

Can you verify the behaviour of your romset with Mame?
Wanted: More Faulty Sega PCBs! :-D
Back to Top
Layer View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 15 Sep 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 238

Feedback: 0
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Layer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Nov 2017 at 9:00pm
Your game seems to be suicided. If you have an eproms burner, you could swap with the decrypted romset of your game revision (grab it @ jammarcade.net) and replace the crypted dead Z80 with a 6 Mhz one.
Back to Top
JAG555 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 05 Jun 2016
Location: Essex
Status: Offline
Points: 433

Feedback: 0
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote JAG555 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Nov 2017 at 9:15pm
There is no Attract Music in Golden Axe, just sounds (like screams and the magic being used).
Back to Top
dj_yt View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 06 Sep 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Points: 1500

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote dj_yt Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Nov 2017 at 9:23pm
I didn't actually realise some golden axes had an encrypted Z80. All of mine only had the FD 68k replacement.
Wanted: More Faulty Sega PCBs! :-D
Back to Top
channel27 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 30 Jul 2015
Location: Iwade, Kent
Status: Offline
Points: 379

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote channel27 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Nov 2017 at 9:35pm
Originally posted by Layer Layer wrote:

Your game seems to be suicided. If you have an eproms burner, you could swap with the decrypted romset of your game revision (grab it @ jammarcade.net) and replace the crypted dead Z80 with a 6 Mhz one.


Would the only symptom of a suicided board be missing attract sequence sound though?
Sound is present in-game.
From what I have read, suicided Golden Axes have no sound at all.

Is someone able to confirm this, please?
Wanted
New Net City
Tekken: 3, 5DR, 5.1, 6, 6BR, TTT2
Virtua Fighter: 1, 2.1, 3TB, 4, 5
Any working / faulty Sega Model 1/2/3 boards
Back to Top
paulcan69 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar
Can reburn OTP EPROMs! Fear my power!

Joined: 24 Jun 2010
Location: Essex U.K
Status: Offline
Points: 1598

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote paulcan69 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Nov 2017 at 9:45pm
I think it slowly loses sounds so maybe?
Arcade Otaku name: paulcan69
Jamma+ name: paulcan69
ebay name: paulcan2
Back to Top
Layer View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 15 Sep 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 238

Feedback: 0
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Layer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Nov 2017 at 9:48pm
No, it wouldn't.

First, check you have well enabled sound in attract mode : dip 2 #2 in On position.
If it is Ok, you should be able to hear the sound effects in attract mode, there is no background music.

As you said you only have 2,90V above, it is a bit weak.




Edited by Layer - 14 Nov 2017 at 9:48pm
Back to Top
channel27 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 30 Jul 2015
Location: Iwade, Kent
Status: Offline
Points: 379

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote channel27 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Nov 2017 at 9:59pm
The dip switch is set to play sounds in attract, but I can’t hear anything.
Yeah, I’ve got a new battery and 2 holders to make the “easy battery swap” adapter.
I’ll get it done at the weekend and investigate further after :)
Wanted
New Net City
Tekken: 3, 5DR, 5.1, 6, 6BR, TTT2
Virtua Fighter: 1, 2.1, 3TB, 4, 5
Any working / faulty Sega Model 1/2/3 boards
Back to Top
Layer View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 15 Sep 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 238

Feedback: 0
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Layer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Nov 2017 at 10:03pm
Around the web, it is said dip 2 #2 has to be set to Off to enable sound. In fact, the right position is On Tongue

Edited by Layer - 14 Nov 2017 at 10:04pm
Back to Top
channel27 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 30 Jul 2015
Location: Iwade, Kent
Status: Offline
Points: 379

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote channel27 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Nov 2017 at 10:05pm
Yeah, I thought that was odd. I tried it in both positions just to make sure!
Wanted
New Net City
Tekken: 3, 5DR, 5.1, 6, 6BR, TTT2
Virtua Fighter: 1, 2.1, 3TB, 4, 5
Any working / faulty Sega Model 1/2/3 boards
Back to Top
John Bennett View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

2 Years of Supporting ukvac.com!

2 Years of Supporting ukvac.com!



Joined: 06 Apr 2015
Location: Newcastle
Status: Offline
Points: 4093

Feedback: 0
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote John Bennett Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Nov 2017 at 10:25pm
Have you put it into service mode and checked that it's detecting the dip switch in both positions?
Back to Top
channel27 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 30 Jul 2015
Location: Iwade, Kent
Status: Offline
Points: 379

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote channel27 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Nov 2017 at 9:46am
Originally posted by John Bennett John Bennett wrote:

Have you put it into service mode and checked that it's detecting the dip switch in both positions?


Good idea. I'll connect it back up later. Hopefully it's just the switch...
Wanted
New Net City
Tekken: 3, 5DR, 5.1, 6, 6BR, TTT2
Virtua Fighter: 1, 2.1, 3TB, 4, 5
Any working / faulty Sega Model 1/2/3 boards
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.125 seconds.