ukVac.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical > Tech, Maintenance & Repairs
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - PI/Arduino Processor Emulator
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Skin:


PI/Arduino Processor Emulator

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 18>
Author
Message
 Rating: Topic Rating: 1 Votes, Average 5.00  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
andrewsm View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 27 Jul 2015
Location: Glasgow
Status: Offline
Points: 961

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote andrewsm Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: PI/Arduino Processor Emulator
    Posted: 11 Apr 2016 at 10:00pm
Well I finally started to build my Cheapo fluke emulator into a case today. Still working on it but so far it will do most essential stuff for a 8080 and a Z80. Thought I would share it on here. When I have got it all together I could prob make more up for a reasonable price if anybody wants a good debug tool but cant afford the flukes.





Edited by Hurray Banana - 04 Sep 2016 at 2:37pm
WANTED: Any Nichi stuff. Need a set of Legs!!
http://www.arcadetester.co.uk
Back to Top
Hurray Banana View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

5 Years of Supporting ukvac.com!

5 Years of Supporting ukvac.com!



Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Location: Grays Essex
Status: Offline
Points: 69140

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Hurray Banana Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Apr 2016 at 10:30pm
very interesting project
Back to Top
silverfox0786 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar
Beware the Hillman

Joined: 22 Jan 2014
Location: Slough, UK
Status: Offline
Points: 8221

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote silverfox0786 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Apr 2016 at 10:35pm
wow that looks cool
Back to Top
andrewsm View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 27 Jul 2015
Location: Glasgow
Status: Offline
Points: 961

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote andrewsm Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Apr 2016 at 10:39pm
Thanks. I know others are working on similar arduino based emulators on here but I started this without knowing and developed it to debug the space invader boards I had. Its since fixed frogger and is growing arms and legs. I picked a Raspberry Pi as I could use that as a front end for the Arduino code. Up to that point the arduino executed a list of commands via a terminal, but that was getting tedious so a Pi has provided a simple output. Stick a 3.5" display on it and some LEDS, and now it is a decent bit of kit. Still got the interface connectors to wire up and a few other things but getting there.
WANTED: Any Nichi stuff. Need a set of Legs!!
http://www.arcadetester.co.uk
Back to Top
andrewsm View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 27 Jul 2015
Location: Glasgow
Status: Offline
Points: 961

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote andrewsm Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Apr 2016 at 10:54pm
So far it can do the following:
1) Create a static address bus with any bit pattern for tracing stuck address lines etc.
2) Read data from an address
3) Write data to and address, works so far with 2114 RAM, others will follow
4) Read and write to I/O ports
5) Read a block of data from any address. Ideal for checking the ROMS are working
6) Performs a shift test on Space Invaders boards.
7) Writes a Block of data.
8) Copies a block of data
9) Can load a block of memory into a datafile. Im working on it to create a BIN file directly and either send it over WIFI or onto a memory stick.
10) For space Invaders it will clear the video RAM and write any characters or strings to it. 


The above list is current and has helped me debug a few boards so far however its only the start as Im working on other things such as a audio probe and logic probe etc etc.

Processors will be switched by simply clicking a box to select them. I cant justify a fluke but this probably is the next best thing hopefully.
WANTED: Any Nichi stuff. Need a set of Legs!!
http://www.arcadetester.co.uk
Back to Top
PaulSwan View Drop Down
Senior Members
Senior Members
Avatar
ZZZ

Joined: 12 Mar 1999
Location: Seattle, WA
Status: Offline
Points: 1606

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote PaulSwan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Apr 2016 at 12:42am
Looks nice! I've not done much on the "front end" side of things on mine - it's not my area of expertise :)
I'm working on DEC T11 at the moment but after that I have a probe head with cut tracks ready to use with 8080.
ZZZ
Back to Top
andrewsm View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 27 Jul 2015
Location: Glasgow
Status: Offline
Points: 961

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote andrewsm Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Apr 2016 at 9:41pm
Thanks Paul. I know you have been working on something similar. Im still learning as a I go along since not programmed for years so now getting into C and also Python. Its coming on well as Ive now wired the connectors up and bolted it all together. Its an ongoing project but getting used as well.


WANTED: Any Nichi stuff. Need a set of Legs!!
http://www.arcadetester.co.uk
Back to Top
grobda View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar
"Look at the size of that thing!"

Joined: 04 Aug 2010
Location: Glasgow
Status: Offline
Points: 2233

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote grobda Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Apr 2016 at 10:09pm
Thumbs Up nice! want! 
sporadically obsessed with this sh*t
Back to Top
andrewsm View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 27 Jul 2015
Location: Glasgow
Status: Offline
Points: 961

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote andrewsm Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Apr 2016 at 10:09pm
Still working on it. Today I fitted a probe so it now has a built in logic probe that can be switched to audio for probing sound as well. 

Once Im happy its working well, I will prob offer them for sale at a figure yet to be decided. My aim is to make a unit which will be a standalone debug station for variety of boards. Other ideas I have is to make it read and write eproms etc etc.
WANTED: Any Nichi stuff. Need a set of Legs!!
http://www.arcadetester.co.uk
Back to Top
Hurray Banana View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

5 Years of Supporting ukvac.com!

5 Years of Supporting ukvac.com!



Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Location: Grays Essex
Status: Offline
Points: 69140

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Hurray Banana Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Apr 2016 at 10:11pm
I think I definitely would be up for one if these mate
Back to Top
andrewsm View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 27 Jul 2015
Location: Glasgow
Status: Offline
Points: 961

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote andrewsm Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Apr 2016 at 10:12pm
where abouts in Glasgow are you Grobda? Maybe we could meet up and you can see it in action?
WANTED: Any Nichi stuff. Need a set of Legs!!
http://www.arcadetester.co.uk
Back to Top
andrewsm View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 27 Jul 2015
Location: Glasgow
Status: Offline
Points: 961

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote andrewsm Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Apr 2016 at 10:16pm
Hey Hurraybanana. Once Ive got it stable and doing what I want then definately mate. Its quite labour intensive to build but then this is the first one. I have been using it strewn around my desk for a while now but putting it in a box had made it look pretty decent I think. If I do make more up to order, then a full operating manual would be provided plus software updates as really the hardware all works its just down to software now.
WANTED: Any Nichi stuff. Need a set of Legs!!
http://www.arcadetester.co.uk
Back to Top
Hurray Banana View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

5 Years of Supporting ukvac.com!

5 Years of Supporting ukvac.com!



Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Location: Grays Essex
Status: Offline
Points: 69140

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Hurray Banana Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Apr 2016 at 8:49am
coolThumbs Up
Back to Top
Paul_in_nottingham View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 04 Aug 2010
Location: Nottingham
Status: Offline
Points: 3340

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Paul_in_nottingham Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Apr 2016 at 9:33am
Great project - love stuff like this.
Back to Top
KmanSweden View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 02 Sep 2015
Location: Stockholm
Status: Offline
Points: 2760

Feedback: 0
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote KmanSweden Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Apr 2016 at 9:47am
Originally posted by andrewsm andrewsm wrote:

Once Im happy its working well, I will prob offer them for sale at a figure yet to be decided. My aim is to make a unit which will be a standalone debug station for variety of boards. Other ideas I have is to make it read and write eproms etc etc.
Best news I've read all day. :D

Back to Top
DABYX View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 26 May 2015
Location: North Wales
Status: Offline
Points: 347

Feedback: 0
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote DABYX Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Apr 2016 at 9:53am
That's a pretty neat looking piece of kit! Amazes me how clever some of you lads on here are.

I'm sure it'd come in useful for many people, nice job
Back to Top
andrewsm View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 27 Jul 2015
Location: Glasgow
Status: Offline
Points: 961

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote andrewsm Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Apr 2016 at 3:15pm
Another update on this project.

I've now added a full function probe arrangement. When set to digital, it will display either Low or High for the logic levels. No problem I hear you say, except this will also show Floating pins, duty cycle and also a indication on what type of signal its seeing. So without using a scope, you can see whether its active low or high or more a clock pulse.
Couple of pics in action.



On the left is the signal probed using a scope. On the right is the same signal probed with my tester.
Reading the display from left to right is as follows: Duty Cycle in %, Type of signal. (Active High), L indicates its a Logic probe and the last o is the activity indicator. One the top line, the first 4 digits are the address and then data is displayed in the right two digits. At the moment no data is present and the address is set 0000.

If the probe is set to analogue, The display changes to display the measured voltage plus a selectable amplifier is engaged to probe for audio signals so tracing sound faults is possible too. 

I have decided that I will be building these to order if anybody is interested. Price has yet to be set as need to work out materials and labour.


Edited by andrewsm - 17 Apr 2016 at 3:48pm
WANTED: Any Nichi stuff. Need a set of Legs!!
http://www.arcadetester.co.uk
Back to Top
andrewsm View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 27 Jul 2015
Location: Glasgow
Status: Offline
Points: 961

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote andrewsm Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 May 2016 at 11:18pm
Bit more progress has been made on my Functional tester. Ive now added a full test screen allowing test sequences to be stored in files for different boards. Once stored, they can be loaded back in and run as single tests or as a full test sequence on another board of the same type. If a test fails, debug info is then provided. Additional commands can be added in to set addresses or data buses etc.






WANTED: Any Nichi stuff. Need a set of Legs!!
http://www.arcadetester.co.uk
Back to Top
Hurray Banana View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

5 Years of Supporting ukvac.com!

5 Years of Supporting ukvac.com!



Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Location: Grays Essex
Status: Offline
Points: 69140

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Hurray Banana Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 May 2016 at 7:28am
This is awesome mate, I feel feature creep coming into play, great when you see a multitude of possibilities. Top effort Clap
Back to Top
andrewsm View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 27 Jul 2015
Location: Glasgow
Status: Offline
Points: 961

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote andrewsm Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 May 2016 at 8:20am
Cheers mate. Ye growing arms and legs!
WANTED: Any Nichi stuff. Need a set of Legs!!
http://www.arcadetester.co.uk
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 18>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.313 seconds.