ukVac.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Forum Info > Suggestions / Bugs / Problems / Help!
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Private Messenger broken?
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Skin:


Private Messenger broken?

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
Anunaki View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 29 Jul 2014
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Points: 374

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Anunaki Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Private Messenger broken?
    Posted: 08 Feb 2017 at 8:55am
I'm taken to a "This page is unsafe"  page when I go to the Private messenger section. When I choose to ignore this the lay-out is broken


check out my arcade blog www.anucade.com
Back to Top
bbz149 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 14 Jun 2011
Location: Essex
Status: Offline
Points: 3951

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote bbz149 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Feb 2017 at 9:25am
Me too, since yesterday!
Back to Top
Alpha1 View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar
Do the Shake and 'VAC

5 Years of Supporting ukvac.com!

5 Years of Supporting ukvac.com!



Joined: 06 Jan 2001
Location: nr Southampton
Status: Offline
Points: 123665

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Alpha1 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Feb 2017 at 9:48am
Are you both using chrome?

PM section is https encrypted, it's most likely the browser not likely the cipher suite anymore.

I'm on a train at the minute so can't do anything. Use a different browser in the mean time.
Wanted: Time Traveller, GALAXIAN 3 THEATER, 80's Namco & Taito games

Back to Top
Macro View Drop Down
Senior Members
Senior Members
Avatar

Joined: 13 May 1999
Location: Norfolk, UK
Status: Offline
Points: 2930

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Macro Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Feb 2017 at 9:57am
In case it helps, Chrome says ...

The connection to this site uses an obsolete protocol (TLS 1.0), a strong key exchange (ECDHE_RSA with P-256), and an obsolete cipher (AES_256_CBC with HMAC-SHA1).


Back to Top
funhouse View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

2 Years of Supporting ukvac.com!

2 Years of Supporting ukvac.com!



Joined: 28 Mar 2016
Location: West London
Status: Offline
Points: 5584

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote funhouse Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Feb 2017 at 10:10am
Yes, I have got that message in Chrome for a while. I think the older ( AES_256_CBC with HMAC-SHA1) encryption has been exploited elsewhere so they are just warning us.

I guess it may be fixed if the forum software is updated but I can imagine that could be a testing time...Pinch


Back to Top
bbz149 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 14 Jun 2011
Location: Essex
Status: Offline
Points: 3951

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote bbz149 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Feb 2017 at 10:22am
Yep Chrome for me!
Back to Top
Chunksin View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

3 Years of Supporting ukvac.com!

3 Years of Supporting ukvac.com!



Joined: 28 May 2012
Location: Birmingham
Status: Online
Points: 8252

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Chunksin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Feb 2017 at 10:45am
If it's a 3rd party cert can't you just get a SHA-2 version reissued ? Rapidssl did that for free when I had to update all of our websites last year to move off SHA-1
Back to Top
Anunaki View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 29 Jul 2014
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Points: 374

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Anunaki Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Feb 2017 at 11:18am
Yes it's chrome
check out my arcade blog www.anucade.com
Back to Top
Big Phil View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar
Captain Phil

5 Years of Supporting ukvac.com!

5 Years of Supporting ukvac.com!



Joined: 24 Nov 2011
Location: County Durham
Status: Offline
Points: 28486

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Big Phil Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Feb 2017 at 11:59am
Strange. I'm using chrome and it's working for me.
DMD Board Repairer
Back to Top
Chunksin View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

3 Years of Supporting ukvac.com!

3 Years of Supporting ukvac.com!



Joined: 28 May 2012
Location: Birmingham
Status: Online
Points: 8252

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Chunksin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Feb 2017 at 12:00pm
Update to v56 and it will break!
Back to Top
AnDyC View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 20 Jul 2014
Location: Brighton
Status: Offline
Points: 1545

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote AnDyC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Feb 2017 at 12:14pm
V56 Chrome user here. No problems.
We work in the dark--we do what we can--we give what we have. Our doubt is our passion and our passion is our task. The rest is the madness of art.
Back to Top
aeroflott View Drop Down
Senior Members
Senior Members
Avatar
A different league

Joined: 22 Apr 2012
Status: Offline
Points: 2087

Feedback: 0
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote aeroflott Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Feb 2017 at 12:25pm
If it helps, Desktop Firefox is OK here, but I get a message when using Chrome on Android:

Your connection is not private: Attackers might be trying to steal your information blah blah blah.
Back to Top
big10p View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 04 Jul 2014
Location: Somerset
Status: Offline
Points: 3154

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote big10p Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Feb 2017 at 1:14pm
I use chrome and have been bugged with this issue. I deleted all history/cookies and it seems to have sorted it... unless Alpha1 has fixed something, server side? Smile
Back to Top
dj_yt View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 06 Sep 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Points: 1444

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote dj_yt Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Feb 2017 at 2:04pm
Chrome 56.0.2924.87 (64-bit) here.

I've tried deleting all UKVAC cookies and it didn't solve the issue.

As a quick fix, using incognito mode seems to work. 
Wanted: More Faulty Sega PCBs! :-D
Back to Top
big10p View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 04 Jul 2014
Location: Somerset
Status: Offline
Points: 3154

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote big10p Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Feb 2017 at 2:11pm
Same version as me. I deleted all backup browsing data (first 4 check boxes) from "the beginning of time".

Edited by big10p - 08 Feb 2017 at 2:50pm
Back to Top
Chunksin View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

3 Years of Supporting ukvac.com!

3 Years of Supporting ukvac.com!



Joined: 28 May 2012
Location: Birmingham
Status: Online
Points: 8252

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Chunksin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Feb 2017 at 2:43pm
Cheers guys, I just cleared cookies, cached images and hosted app data (the default) and its all back to normal :)
Back to Top
JohnBud View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar
There's only one JB, only one JB!

Joined: 15 Aug 2010
Location: lanarkshire
Status: Offline
Points: 3143

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote JohnBud Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Feb 2017 at 3:57pm
had an issue this morning but got told all is fine by 2 members on my facebook page. they posted 2 links to the problem 

https://www.schneier.com/blog/archives/2012/10/when_will_we_se.html


Back to Top
Outrun2 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar
Colonel Outrun

Joined: 18 Sep 2000
Location: Gloucestershire
Status: Offline
Points: 1987

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Outrun2 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Feb 2017 at 11:36am
Originally posted by Chunksin Chunksin wrote:

Cheers guys, I just cleared cookies, cached images and hosted app data (the default) and its all back to normal :)

This worked for me, but I had to continue past the 'unsafe' message in order to log in.  Once logged back in all seems well - although it does state 'Not Secure' in the address bar when within the private messenger environment (it used to do that even before the update though).
Would like:
No more cabs.. please!!
Back to Top
vib_ribbon View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 06 Jan 2014
Status: Offline
Points: 1797

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote vib_ribbon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Feb 2017 at 12:10pm
i'm getting the same on Firefox 51.0.1 (64-bit) on my imac os 10.11.6
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.266 seconds.