ukVac.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical > Tech, Maintenance & Repairs
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Starforce boot no graphics
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Skin:


Starforce boot no graphics

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
virtvic View Drop Down
Senior Members
Senior Members
Avatar
The Cabaret King

Joined: 04 Jul 2010
Location: Whitton, Midlsx
Status: Offline
Points: 6706

Feedback: 4.714285714285
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote virtvic Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Starforce boot no graphics
    Posted: 16 Apr 2018 at 8:36pm
I have a a Starforce boot which had 3 faulty roms - they are now reburned and replaced and the game boots and plays with sound and just the scores. NO backgrounds or sprites.

When the rug comes up, it's the wrong colours and there is wrong colours behind the text.

I have swapped out 6 different socketed 2114 rams to no avail.

Any pointers where I should start looking?

THE PENCE IS MIGHTIER THAN THE SWORD!

Check out the podcast

http://tenpencearcade.co.uk

Got cabarets? > CALL ME!
Back to Top
bones View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 13 Jul 2016
Location: Essex
Status: Offline
Points: 119

Feedback: 0
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote bones Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Apr 2018 at 3:09am
Don't know this pcb but I've had a couple with no background graphics, both had faulty 74ls30
Back to Top
virtvic View Drop Down
Senior Members
Senior Members
Avatar
The Cabaret King

Joined: 04 Jul 2010
Location: Whitton, Midlsx
Status: Offline
Points: 6706

Feedback: 4.714285714285
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote virtvic Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Apr 2018 at 8:33pm
Roughly what area was your faulty I.C.?
THE PENCE IS MIGHTIER THAN THE SWORD!

Check out the podcast

http://tenpencearcade.co.uk

Got cabarets? > CALL ME!
Back to Top
bones View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 13 Jul 2016
Location: Essex
Status: Offline
Points: 119

Feedback: 0
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote bones Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Apr 2018 at 2:45pm
Hi, sorry didn't see the post,one was a dd boot,that was on the bottom(video) board about 3 rows in from the above boards jamma connector, the other was an original pacland board on the edge near the edge connector, they work along side Ls298's deciding which information takes priority in the drawing. But not sure how your PCB does it, but if the ls30 is down there are no background graphics drawn on the above PCBs. They're normally interlinked with ls08,ls74 and ls32. I reckon you may have an ls08 somewhere else near your proms they can control ls245's directional functions that allow the graphic proms to start writing,check out pin 1 and pin 19 on any ls245's there should be activity,to have nothing on your screen suggests that it could just be an ls08 and it'll be worth piggybacking any ls08's(quad and gates) as they seem to suffer from dead outputs(pins 3,6,8&11). Good luck
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.117 seconds.