ukVac.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical > Tech, Maintenance & Repairs
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Battlezone PCB Issue
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Skin:


Battlezone PCB Issue

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
aeroflott View Drop Down
Senior Members
Senior Members
Avatar
A different league

Joined: 22 Apr 2012
Status: Offline
Points: 2434

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote aeroflott Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Battlezone PCB Issue
    Posted: 13 Feb 2018 at 9:33pm
Hello chaps.

I've been testing out a supposedly working Battlezone board for another forum member here, and it seems to be running, but with a few issues and I wonder if anyone can give me some pointers as to what might be up.

PCB is getting a solid +5, all chips have been reseated, and inter connecting loom unplugged and reconnected. I've replicated the same issues using another monitor, confirmed working in an Asteroids. So I'm guessing this is a PCB issue.

Firstly, the vectors seem extended and distorted. The extent of this seemed to vary minute by minute, but to give you an idea:





In addition, there were random vectors flickering on screen during gameplay.

That was yesterday.

Today I've switched on, and the distorted vectors don't seem to be there any more (the words and numbers seem aligned OK now, but I'm still getting these flickering random vectors. Here's a vid of what's going on:


If you watch closely you can see them appear every now and then.

Also, in attract mode, I can very faintly hear the radar "blip" when it appears on screen showing the game. (This might be normal for these boards?).

I was thinking about the interconnect cable, as this always causes problems on my Tempest. Maybe a reflow of the header pins might be in order (although it looks as though this has been done at some point).

Any pointers appreciated.

Tony
Back to Top
Equites View Drop Down
Senior Members
Senior Members
Avatar
Chief Sheesher®

5 Years of Supporting ukvac.com!

5 Years of Supporting ukvac.com!



Joined: 28 Jun 2010
Location: Liverpool
Status: Offline
Points: 21705

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Equites Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Feb 2018 at 9:58pm
Does TEST report any issues?

I’ve seen bad bit slicers, vector ROMs and RAM produce similar results.

Edited by Equites - 13 Feb 2018 at 10:18pm
Atari PCB's (and most non-Atari), AR2's, Vector Deflection/HV boards repaired & refurbished.
Wanted: Non-working Atari PCBs.
Back to Top
smarty View Drop Down
Senior Members
Senior Members
Avatar

Joined: 14 Oct 2011
Location: Fleet,Hampshire
Status: Offline
Points: 14200

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote smarty Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Feb 2018 at 8:39am
.

Edited by smarty - 14 Feb 2018 at 8:41am
jumpnfire.com

MOST WANTED CABS:
Atari Pole Position Euro cab.
Back to Top
aeroflott View Drop Down
Senior Members
Senior Members
Avatar
A different league

Joined: 22 Apr 2012
Status: Offline
Points: 2434

Feedback: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote aeroflott Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Feb 2018 at 4:57pm
Smarty you tease. Wink

Took a look again at this today. The Vectors now seem to be OK, but the random flickering is still there. 

Test mode comes up as a pass and all is fine.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.270 seconds.