ukVac.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical > Tech, Maintenance & Repairs
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Skin:

Vector Arcade Machine - Pre Flight Checks

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
 Rating: Topic Rating: 1 Votes, Average 5.00  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
edwoodjnr View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (5) Thanks(5)   Quote edwoodjnr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Vector Arcade Machine - Pre Flight Checks
    Posted: 04 Sep 2014 at 7:46pm
This is a repost from J+ that I posted in 2012 after getting my Star Wars, hopefully it will useful for any new Star Wars owners who want to run through some checks before switching it on or if you have problems.

I am not an expert and a big thank you goes to ColinD for all the help and patience in helping me with this.   There is a lot of very good information available on the internet that explains the sections covered in this guide in a lot more detail that I will refer to but hopefully you will find it useful.

The first thing to do is to purchase a Multimeter that has a diode setting and ideally an audible continuity test.   I got this one (GW24B) from Maplin for £19.99 that works very well:

http://www.maplin.co.uk/digital-multimeter-with-autorange-frequency-counter-4407

For most usage you will insert the black lead in the COM socket and the red lead in the V?mA socket.   The dial in the middle is used to amend the sensitivity of the Multimeter and should be set to the next highest setting of what you are measuring.  So if you are testing for 37v DC you would need to set the switch to DC and the dial to 200.  If you are testing 12v DC you would turn the dial to 20.

For this guide I will be using a Star Wars Upright cabinet with a WG6100 monitor that was sold as not working.   As it is an Atari classic it has the following four key segments that enable gameplay: